

Minutes

Consulting Engineer Designation Committee

Meeting: March 17, 2022, Thursday (via Zoom)

Present: Gordon Debbert, P.Eng.

Santosh Gupta, P.Eng. Richard Kamo, P.Eng.

Andrew Lawton, P.Eng. – Vice Chair

Adrian Pierorazio, P.Eng. Michael Rosenblitt, P.Eng.

Steve van der Woerd, P.Eng. - Chair

Regrets: Don Plenderleith, P.Eng.

Matt Weaver, P.Eng.

Staff: Cliff Knox, P.Eng.

Ian Daniels, P.Eng. Imelda Suarez

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 10:01 am.

1. Minutes

Santosh Gupta moved to adopt the minutes of the October 28, 2021 meeting; seconded by Gord Debbert.

CARRIED

2. <u>Business Arising from the Minutes</u>

2.1 Chapter Strategy

 Richard Kamo reported that the November 5 presentation was cancelled due to low number of participants.

2.2 "DCEng."

• Regulatory Policy and Legislation Committee (RPLC) has yet to invite Chair.

3. Regional Sub-Committee Reports – Designation/Redesignation

3.1 Western Region

Gord Debbert moved that applicant 1.1 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta. CARRIED

Gord Debbert moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.10 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Andrew Lawton.

CARRIED

3.2 <u>Eastern Region</u>

Andrew Lawton moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.2 from the Eastern Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

CARRIED

Andrew Lawton moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.2 from the Eastern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Gord Debbert.

CARRIED

3.3 Toronto

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.9 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

CARRIED

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.16 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Richard Kamo.

CARRIED

3.4 <u>Southern Region</u>

Adrian Pierorazo moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.2 from the Southern Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Gord Debbert.

CARRIED

Adrian Pierorazio moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.4 from the Southern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

CARRIED

3.5 Northern Region

Richard Kamo moved that applicant 1.1 from the Northern Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Michael Rosenblitt.

CARRIED

There were no applicants for redesignation.

4. <u>Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"</u>

Richard Kamo moved that applicants 1.1, and 1.3 to 1.10 be **approved** for the Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"; seconded by Michael Rosenblitt.

CARRIED

Applicant 1.2, HOMES Water Inc, has been deferred pending submission of additional information.

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicant 2.1 be approved for the Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"; seconded by Gord Debbert.

CARRIED

5. <u>Activity Reports</u>

Cliff Knox reported that:

• There have been changes in PEO's organizational structure. There are postings for various Directors who will be reporting to the three VPs.

- The AGM will be held virtually on April 30. Johnny Zuccon is scheduled to retire after this AGM.
- PEO staff will be working using the hybrid model, going to the office as required for business needs. In-person committee meetings will not resume until after AGM at the earliest.
- Bills 27 and 88 Working for Workers Act create amendments to FARPACTA.
 These include elimination of Canadian experience requirement, strict licensing timelines, developing a plan for emergency situations to maintain licensing operations, and standardizing English proficiency requirements. Bill 88 seeks improvements in processing of inter-provincial transfers.

6. New Member to the CEDC

Santosh Gupta moved to invite Dalila Giusti to serve in the Toronto Subcommittee, and on the CEDC; seconded by Michael Rosenblitt.

CARRIED

Staff comment: Council approved Dalila Giusti's membership to the Toronto Subcommittee and the CEDC at their April 8, 2022 meeting.

7. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Santosh Gupta nominated Steve van der Woerd as Chair; seconded by Gord Debbert. There were no other nominations. Steve van der Woerd continues as Chair of the committee.

CARRIED

Santosh Gupta nominated Michael Rosenblitt as Vice Chair. There were no other nominations. Michael Rosenblitt is the new Vice Chair of the committee.

CARRIED

8. Volunteer Recognition

The committee commends the services of the following members to PEO: Gord Debbert (5 years), Andrew Lawton (10 years), and Matt Weaver (15 years).

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 11:18 am.