

# Minutes

# **Consulting Engineer Designation Committee**

Meeting: February 22, 2024, Thursday

Present: Miles Buckrell, P.Eng.

Gord Debbert, P.Eng. Dalila Giusti, P.Eng. Santosh Gupta, P.Eng. Andrew Lawton, P.Eng.

Adrian Pierorazio, P.Eng. – Chair

Michael Rosenblitt, P.Eng.

Regrets: Don Plenderleith, P.Eng.

Steve van der Woerd, P.Eng.

Matt Weaver, P.Eng. – Vice Chair

Staff: Jennifer Quaqlietta, P.Eng. (first 10 mins)

Americo Viola, P.Eng. (left after Committee Engagement discussion)

Halley Schaub (left after Committee Engagement discussion)

Jose Vera, P.Eng. Ian Daniels, P.Eng. Imelda Suarez

#### Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 10:01 am.

#### 1. Committee Engagement Project

Jennifer Quaglietta introduced the Committee Engagement Project, and Halley Schaub conducted the presentation and solicited feedback.

## 2. <u>Agenda</u>

Approved by consensus.

#### 3. Minutes

Santosh Gupta moved to adopt the minutes of the October 26, 2023 meeting; seconded by Michael Rosenblitt.

CARRIED

#### 4. <u>Business Arising from the Minutes</u>

Jose Vera to take application form changes to communications.

#### 5. Regional Sub-Committee Reports – Designation/Redesignation

#### 5.1 Western Region

Gord Debbert moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.3 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

CARRIED

Gord Debbert moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.4 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Dalila Giusti.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3.2 <u>Eastern Region</u>

There are no applicants for designation.

Andrew Lawton moved that applicant 1.1 from the Eastern Subcommittee report, Josh Lombard, be **declined** as the applicant is employed by a General Contractor. Employment by a General Contractor is not considered to constitute "independent practice"; seconded by Gord Debbert.

**CARRIED** 

Andrew Lawton moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.5 from the Eastern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Gord Debbert.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3.3 Toronto

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.4 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

**CARRIED** 

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.18 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Dalila Giusti.

CARRIED

Applicants 3.1, 4.1 and 4.2 (Reyburn Franz, Nadir Ansari, and Nabil Mamiza) be **deferred** until the applicants are able to provide additional information.

Applicant 5.1 (Albert Yerushalmi) be **deferred**. The applicant will be invited for an interview before the next subcommittee meeting.

#### 3.4 Southern Region

There are no applicants for designation.

Adrian Pierorazio moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.4 from the Southern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Santosh Gupta.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3.5 Northern Region -

There are no applicants for designation.

Santosh Gupta moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.2 from the Northern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Michael Rosenblitt.

**CARRIED** 

#### 6. Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"

Applicant 1.1 from PTU list (14838998 Canada Inc.) is **deferred** until the applicant is able to provide additional information.

After discussion about applicant 1.1, Michael Rosenblitt moved that CEDC recommend to Council that PTU applicants must carry insurance; seconded by Dalila Giusti.

**CARRIED** 

Michael Rosenblitt moved that applicants 1.2 and 1.3 be **approved** for the Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"; seconded by Santosh Gupta. CARRIED

## 7. <u>Activity Reports</u>

Jose Vera reported the following:

- New Deputy Registrar, Americo Viola, to be invited to next meeting.
- Election results are out.
- Jose Vera to reach out to ACEC.

# 8. <u>Election of Chair and Vice Chair</u>

Santosh Gupta moved that Adrian Pierorazio and Matt Weaver continue on as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively. Approved by acclamation.

#### 9. <u>New Member in Toronto Subcommittee</u>

Murad Hossain will be added to the Toronto Subcommittee, following the departure of Levente Diosady.

#### <u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 am.