Hero Banner

Professional Engineers Ontario inducts 19 into its Order of Honour at virtual ceremony


Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO), Ontario’s engineering regulator, inducted 19 longtime licence holder volunteers into its Order of Honour on Saturday, June 19, 2021 during its first ever virtual awards celebration.

Click here to watch the awards ceremony.

The Order is an honorary society that recognizes those professional engineers and others who have rendered conspicuous service to the engineering profession, normally through PEO and its chapters. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Order of Honour gala was delayed and combined into a larger gala in 2021. The virtual awards ceremony recognized inductees in three categories:

Companion (The Order of Honour's highest distinction, the rank of Companion is reserved for individuals who have profoundly influenced the engineering profession.)

2020 - Paul Ballantyne, P.Eng., FEC
2021 - Bob Dony, Ph.D., P.Eng., C.Eng., FIEE, FEC

Officer (The rank of Officer is bestowed upon those who have served the engineering profession for many years and whose sustained leadership has contributed greatly to its operation or improvement in its status.)

2020 - Stephen Hong Tsui, M.Eng., C.Eng., P.Eng., FEC
2020 - L. Brian Ross, P.Eng., FEC
2020 - Edward Kai-Jee Poon, M.A.Sc., M.Sc., P.Eng., PMP, FEC

2021 - Roydon Fraser, P.Eng., FEC
2021 - Sean P. McCann, M.A.Sc., FEC, P.Eng.
2021 - Helen Wojcinski, P.Eng., FEC, FCAE, MBA, CMC

Member (The member designation honours those who have served the engineering profession by contributing substantially to its operation or improvement in its status.)

2020 - Karen Chan, P.Eng., FEC
2020 - Brett Chmiel, P.Eng., FEC
2020 - Waguih H. EIMaraghy, Ph.D., P.Eng., FEC, FCAE, FCIRP, FASME, FSME, FCSME
2020 - John Hazel, P.Eng, MBA, FEC
2020 - David Kiguel, P.Eng., FEC
2020 - Jim McConnach, P.Eng., CEng, FEC, FIET, SMIEEE
2020 - Scott Schelske, P.Eng., FEC
2020 - Barry Westhead, P.Eng., FEC

2021 - Annabelle Lee, P.Eng., FEC
2021 - Stacey McGuire, P.Eng.
2021 - Pasquale (Pat) Scanga, P.Eng., FEC

The presentation also recognized recent S.E. Wolfe Thesis, V.G. Smith, President’s and G. Gordon M. Sterling Engineering Intern awards recipients. The awardees included:

S.E. Wolfe Thesis (Presented to the engineer whose thesis was awarded the highest mark of all those presented during the year.)

V.G. Smith (Presented to an engineer who achieved the highest examination standing during the year.)

President’s Award (Recognizes non-engineers who have shown continuous support of, and made significant contributions to, advancing the engineering profession in Ontario.)

G. Gordon M. Sterling Engineering Intern awards (Recognizes engineering interns who demonstrate leadership potential within the engineering profession.)

“Through their diligent efforts, tonight’s Order of Honour inductees have made significant impact on engineering in their own communities, throughout our province and across the country,” said Ken McMartin, P.Eng. FEC, chair of the Professional Engineers Awards Committee and a Companion to the Order of Honour. “It is this professional attitude and service to the profession that distinguishes each of those we invest into the Professional Engineers Ontario Order of Honour.”

“Congratulations once again to the Smith, Wolfe, Sterling and President’s awards winners, as well as all those inducted into PEO’s Order of Honour this evening,” said awards host and past PEO president Marisa Sterling, P.Eng., FEC. “Your exceptional service and contributions to PEO and the engineering profession is appreciated.”